Dhaka College: The Department of Chemistry

Prof. Samsud Begum, Head of the Department of Chemistry, Dhaka College

Chemistry is that branch of science which deals with the composition of matter, the changes produce there in by heat and other natural forces and the actions and reactions of different kinds of matter on one another.

Matter exists in there states solid, liquid and gaseous. So far as composition is concerned matter is of two kinds: elements and compounds. The number of elements so far found is 118 and the compounds are formed with the combination of different kinds of there elements. So the whole of the universe which consists of matter may be solid, liquid and gas namely elements or compounds is a matter of Chemistry to be discussed.

Chemistry as a Department of an institution started its journey for the first time in the University of Marburg, Germany only with six students 404 years back from now that is in the year 1609 Pioneer was Prof. Zohans Heartman. Following Marburg University after 74 years Oxford University opened its Chemistry Dept. in the year 1683. Robert plot was the first professor. In the hands of Frensis Vigani Dept. of Chemistry started its venture in the year 1703 in famous CambridgeUniversity. Madam Kuri was first novel lariat amongst women that was in the year 1911. The whole world observed 2011 as international Chemistry year. The Chemists around the world celebrated 400 years of Chemistry in 2009.

French Chemist Antoni Lavoesie the father of modern Chemistry, Britsh school teacher John Dalton father of atomic structure, Arnest Ratherford of Newzeland inventor of the solar atom model, Danish scientist Niels Bhor inventor of atomic model, Russian Scientist Trimit Mendelif introducer of periodic Table, Italian scientist Amadio Avogadro presenter of Avogadro Hypothesis, German Friz Habber inventor of production of Ammonia, British scientist Micheal Faraday inventor of law of electrolysis, British Robert Boyel founder of different fundamental rules of Chemistry, French chemist Gay Lucas creating immense contribution in the field of Analytical and Industrial Chemistry, American chemist lewis inventor of octet rule, German scientist Fedrich Whoaler introducer of Organic Chemistry, August Kakul inventor of the structure of Benzene, German chemist Amelia Fisher father of sugar Chemistry, French Chemist Victor Grignard Victor inventor of alkyl magnesium Hallied and contribution of many other scientist has elevated our civilization as well as Chemistry to the present state of position.

Along with those great scientists we have also got some world famous Chemist in the

country who laid foundation of Chemistry in our country and made the subject attractive.

In this connection we remember with respect the names of Dr. Kudrat-E-khuda, Prof

Mokarram Hossain Khundoker, Prof. Ali Nawab, Prof S. Z. Haider, Prof. Mofiz Uddin

Ahmed, Dr. Fazlul Halim Chowdhary, Dr. Mesbahuddin Ahmed, Dr. Syed Safiullah, Prof

Abu Saleh.

The century old DhakaCollege founded in 1841 has been playing active role and development of education and social and political culture of the people of this sub­continent. Chemistry Dept. is its pride. Chemistry is one of the important faculties of the institution where in students are dispensed with graduation and post graduation education. Moreover Chemistry is a compulsory subject in the higher secondary class.

The people Republic of Bangladeshis in 1972 have been pleased to left this college

Open Honors’ courses in several subjects. Chemistry is one of them. The graduation and

Masters Program go under NationalUniversity from 1992 -1993. Now the Dept. got a big

shape of about 700 students under graduation and post graduation program each year. The Departmental discipline is nicely shaped in there chemical faculties physical, Inorganic and Organic Chemistry with different laboratories and seminar library. At present 13 teachers, 2 demonstrators and 5 MLSS work in team sprit as if all are family members. They are all earnestly sincere at their respective fields. From 1972 under the dynamic leadership of 14 departmental Chairman this department has enriched its name and fame.

Instructive teaching staff of Chemistry Dept. as it stands in 2013

Head of the Dept Prof Samsud Begum

Associate Professors: Md Mozzam Hosen Mollah, Zebunnesa, Waliullah Md Ajmotgir,

Assistant Professors: B M Mohibur Rahman, Syed Anowar Hossain, Mahbuba Khanam,

Abul Kalam Azad

Lectures:  Dr Abdul karim, Shamsul Haque, Abdul Hamid, Shanton Sharzad, Md Mainur


Demonstrators:   Chowdhury Hafizur Rahman, Zainul Abedin


Number of students obtaining first class from this department.

Year 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
Hons’ 04 03 03 04 08
Master 02 26 14 39 51


Wahiduzzaman achieved first class first position in the M.Sc final exam in 2006. Trinath Singh is also another student secured first position obtaining highest marks among students of all the subjects in Honors’ final exam. Held in 2008 in the country 45 Students of post graduation level have completed their research work under the supervision of Dr. Syed lqbal Moiz former Associate Professor of this Dept. from 2001 to 2010. Presently there students are conducting research work under the supervision of Associate Prof Waliullah Md Ajmotgir and Assistant Prof. Mahbuba Khanam of this Dept.

Students passing out from Chemistry Dept. are working with reputation in there respective fields.

Besides glorious academic attainments the member of the teaching staff and the student of this Dept. regularly take part in co- curricular activities and there they try to give a good account of themselves.

Prof Samsud Begum head of the Department of Chemistry is the Professor representative and Associate Professor Md Mozzam Hosen Mollah is elected general secretary in the Teachers Council 2013 of DhakaCollege. Waliullah Md Ajmotg ir associate professor of Chemistry is at present the Secretary General of BCS General Education Cader.

Let us all hope that the Dept. of Chemistry of DhakaCollege will continue to produce efficient and competent good citizens for our beloved country.

Year       I    2005                  I 2006 I 2007